Super Rugby Women’s Grand Final teams: all roads lead to Ballymore, Emily Robinson reaches milestone


And then, there were two.

The NSW Waratahs and Fijian Drua will meet at Ballymore to decide who lifts the Super Rugby Women’s trophy, and it couldn’t fall at a better time as news of increased investment in the women’s game was announced earlier this week.

With the Pacific Four series now on the horizon, this match looms as an ideal way to close out the professional domestic season: and serve as a thrilling appetiser to what we’ll see later in both Wallaroo gold and in flying Fijian style!

See all the team news below.

The Waratahs have named a settled side for the clash, looking to replicate their dominance of the Drua over in Fiji earlier this year. One of the notable changes sees Eva Karpani move back to the bench in a player management move, with Bridie O’Gorman slotting into the starting side.

Piper Duck will captain the side, however the big news will be in the bench, with veteran prop Emily Robinson set to become the most capped Waratah of all time, earning a 33rd cap off the bench on Sunday.

“I’m pretty proud,” the prop admitted to reporters.

“I’ve played here since the inception of the Waratahs, I love this club and hopefully can add a few more years of playing time.”

However, they come up against a similarly settled Drua side, with three changes made to the full squad.

The big inclusion is Former captain Bitila Tawake, fresh off a stint in Super Rugby Aupiki, who will start in the front row for the Drua.

The other changes come off the bench, with Loraini Senivutu and Tiana Robanakadavu set to come into the reserves, capping off a dangerous-looking side that will be out to win their third title on the trot.

“They play a completely different style of Rugby to the Aussie sides so it’s been really cool having them in the competition,” Robinson added.

“Their style of play is crazy and it’s a credit to them and how they’ve grown up and played so that’s a big challenge for us and I think we’ve learnt from past years.”

The grand final will kick-off at 2pm AEST on Sunday, 28 April.

Watch every match of Super Rugby Pacific ad-free, live & on demand on the Home of Rugby, Stan Sport

WARATAHS (1-15): Brianna Hoy, Brittany Merlo, Bridie O’Gorman, Kaitlan Leaney, Atasi Lafai, Leilani Nathan, Skye Churchill, Piper Duck (c), Layne Morgan, Arabella McKenzie, Desiree Miller, Katrina Barker, Georgina Friedrichs, Maya Stewart, Caitlyn Halse

RESERVES: Siusiuosalafai Volkman, Emily Robinson, Eva Karpani, Annabelle Codey, Sera Naiqama, Tatum Bird, Waiaria Ellis, Jade Sheridan

DRUA (1-15): Salanieta Nabuli, Keleni Marawa, Bitila Tawake, Jade Coates, Asinate Serevi, Nunia Daunimoala, Sulita Waisega, Karalaini Naisewa (c), Setaita Railumu, Jenifer Ravutia, Adita Milinia, Merewalesi Rokouno, Vani Arei, Merewairita Neivosa, Atelaite Buna

RESERVES: Litia Marama, Loraini Senivutu, Tiana Robanakadavu, Mereoni Nakesa, Fulori Rotagavira, Evivi Senikarivi, Salanieta Kinita, Repeka Tove

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.