Rugby News: Fresh deals for Hooper, Nasser, Roosters pushing for Wallaby’s early exit, Swinton’s farewell present


Wallaby forward Tom Hooper has signed a one-year extension with the ACT Brumbies, while Queensland Reds hooker Josh Nasser has also been locked down for next season.

Hooper, 23, broke into the Test team last year, making his debut in South Africa. He played all four of the Wallabies games at the World Cup and was central to the Brumbies’ march to the semifinals of Super Rugby this year.

“I’m stoked to be sticking around in Canberra for at least another year,” said the Bathurst raised Hooper.

” It definitely feels like home for me here and I’m desperate to be part of a successful Brumbies team.

“I know I have a lot of growth in me both on and off the field and I’m highly motivated to do everything I can to be part of the major events on the horizon here in Australia.”

ACT Brumbies coach Stephen Larkham said:  “We’re happy Tom is committed to extending his time with the Brumbies and Australian Rugby.”

“I know our Members, fans and staff will be pleased with our recent re-signings, knowing a core group of our players are staying in Canberra.”

Tom Hooper. Photo: Brumbies Media

Nasser, 24, has re-signed for two years at the Reds and is considered a chance of higher honours this season after being named on Joe Schmidt’s train-on squad.

The 112kg Nasser played in all 15 of the Reds’ matches in Super Rugby Pacific in 2024.

“Queensland is my home state. I’ve come through the Reds Academy and under-age teams so to re-commit is a no-brainer,” Nasser said.

“At the Reds this year, you feel part of really solid foundations for future growth as well.

“In my specialist position, I’ve had the luxury of (set piece coach) Zane Hilton as a brilliant coach. The detail he gives you around scrum time and lineout throwing has been immense.”

Meanwhile the Reds have announced they will face Irish club Ulster early next year. The match against Ulster at Kingspan Stadium on February 7 will follow the tour opener against English club Bristol at Ashton Gate Stadium on January 31.

We’re off to Belfast! The Queensland Reds will face @UlsterRugby at Kingspan Stadium on February 7 to round out our European preseason in 2025 ????????


— Queensland Reds (@Reds_Rugby) June 18, 2024

Roosters pushing for early Mark

The Sydney Roosters are trying to have Mark Nawaqanitawase released early from his Rugby Australia contract to join the NRL club this season – but the Olympics are proving a hurdle.

Marky Mark will be given a shot of making the Aussie sevens team for the Paris games when he plays trials with the side this weekend in Fiji.

His agent told the Sydney Morning Herald the Roosters have been in touch with the NRL in a bid to work through the details of a potential June 30 move and whether head office would consider registering him for this year if he played at the Olympics

“At this stage the Roosters have expressed interest in bringing Mark Nawaqanitawase prior to his contract start date,” Milan Volavola-Shankar told the Herald.

“We are in the midst of discussions and negotiations with Rugby Australia about the prospect of an early release subject to his pending selection in rugby sevens for the Olympics.”

The Olympics start on July 26.

Swinton’s farewell present

Departing Waratahs forward Lachie Swinton was a clear winner of the Matt Burke Cup as the Tahs’ top male player for 2024.

In his final season with the Waratahs before leaving for France, Swinton was voted their top player by his teammates.

Men’s standings

Lachlan Swinton – 219Dylan Pietsch – 161Jake Gordon – 161Charlie Gamble – 150Mark Nawaqanitawase – 118Mahe Vailanu – 109

Atasi Lafai won the Women’s Player of the Year Award after the Tahs’ title win.

Women’s standings

Atasi Lafai – 132Leilani Nathan – 131Desiree Miller – 91Caitlyn Halse – 86Maya Stewart – 68Skye Churchill – 66

Waratahs Award winner

Waratahs Women’s Rookie of the Year – Waiaria EllisWaratahs Women’s Best Back – Desiree MillerWaratahs Women’s Best Forward – Leilani NathanWaratahs Women’s Player of the Year – Atasi LafaiChris Whitaker Aspiring Waratah Medal – Miles AmatoseroDave Dennis Player of the Year (Elite Youth Development Program) – Jack BarrettWaratahs Men’s Best Back – Jake GordonWaratahs Men’s Best Forward – Lachlan SwintonMatt Burke Cup – Lachlan Swinton


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.